ENV2 Camera Phone TRIPOD mount

The ENV2 tripod in all it's glory

The ENV2 tripod in all it's glory. The "holder" is a 2x4 with a 1/2 inch slot milled in it.

As discussed in this post, I recently made some custom mounting hardware for my phone.  Although a wooden block seemed sufficient at the time, I’ve been trying out some stop-motion techniques and purchased a tripod.  Making my ENV2 mount compatible was a simple matter of drilling and tapping the bottom of the wood for a 1/4 – 20 screw.  Most tripods accept this screw and mine was no exception.

making the ENV2 mount "tripod compatible"

Making the ENV2 mount "tripod compatible" by tapping for a 1/4 - 20 screw.

I really don’t intend to use this tripod – a 42 inch Targus Universal Travel Tripod that I got from Walmart- with my ENV2 as I do have an actual digital camera (a Casio Exilim that’s about five years old).  However, as with the original mount, it was a very easy project.

Below is a picture that I took with the ENV2 tripod in 640 x 480 resolution.

taken with tripod

picture taken with ENV2 tripod

Although I can’t be certain, it is my belief that I now have, in my posession, the single most advanced piece of mounting hardware designed for taking pictures with the ENV2 phone.  I just hope that it doesn’t fall into the wrong hands.

-JC

About Jeremy S Cook

Jeremy is an engineer with 10 years experience at his full-time profession, and has a BSME from Clemson University. Outside of work he’s an avid maker and experimenter, building anything that comes into his mind!
This entry was posted in STOP MOTION, TOOLS and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to ENV2 Camera Phone TRIPOD mount

  1. Pingback: ENV2 Camera Phone Mount |

Leave a Reply

